Pupil Progress and Exam Results

Pupil Progress and Exam Results

Key Stage 2

In 2018/2019 Sutton House Academy had 2 Year 6 students neither of whom sat the Key Stage 2 SATs as they were both working below the level of these tests.


Key Stage 4

Please select the following links to download our Progress 5 Examination results:

Sutton House Exam Results 2019

Sutton House Exam Results 2018

Progress 8 is based on a students' fine line average of Key Stage 2 (KS2) English and Mathematics, National Attainment 8 points are published each year - they are the expected points, at KS4, from this KS2 base.

Progress 8 floor standards do not apply to special schools, pupil referral units, alternative provision or hospital schools. The floor standard: a school will be below the floor standard if Progress 8 score is below -0.5

Progress 8 is used nationally for performance measures for main stream secondary schools. Mainstream secondary schools have KS4 curriculum to support P8 - an English Baccalaureate (EBBAC) curriculum, traditionally comprising of :

English Language and Literature, Mathematics, Science Core and Additional, Triple Science (Biology, Chemistry and Physics), Computer Science, Geography, History and a GCSE Modern Foreign language

There are 4 'buckets' of subjects for Progress 8:

  1. English (double weighted points),
  2. Mathematics (double weighted points),
  3. EBBAC (comprising points from best 3 EBBAC subjects taken),
  4. Open (comprising of points from best 3 non EBBAC subjects)

'Progress 8 measures' are difficult to use with special/BESD/PRU's as it relies on having an EBBAC curriculum (as outlined). These schools offer an appropriate curriculum to meet the various needs of its 'cliental'  so comparing performance to national Progress 8 would be unfair given the reduced curriculum offer .

Progress 5 can be modelled for special schools, pupil referral units, and alternative provision or hospital schools.

Progress 5 (P5) works on a similar principle to Progress 8 but with fewer 'buckets'

  1. 'English Bucket' which is double weighted points,
  2. 'Mathematics Bucket' again which is double weighted points,
  3. 'Open Bucket' where 3 additional GCSE and or Vocational equivalents points can go.

P5 consists effectively from a total of 7 subjects (Eng X2, Ma X2, + 3 other subjects) this score is then compared to national Attainment 8 points but factored by 70% (as Progress 8 effectively comes from 10 subjects - Eng x2, Maths x 2, 3 EBBAC points and 3 Open points)


COOKIE NOTICE: This site uses cookies to store information on your computer, in order to improve your experience when using our website. One of the cookies we use is essential for parts of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site (using your browser), but parts of the site may not work. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, Read More.